1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

12/14 V23 build - requires nvram reset??

Discussion in 'DD-WRT Firmware' started by dellsweig, Dec 14, 2005.

  1. dellsweig

    dellsweig Network Guru Member

    v23-beta-2:
    This release needs a full reset of all nvram settings to get everything in the right place

    14.12.2005:
    - ASUS WL500G-Deluxe support fixed
    0000442 DNS problems with 12.12.05
    0000450 12/12 build: Calling ntpclient manually sets time to UTC
    0000446 UDP Timeout option broken
    0000129 L7 protocol for half-life 2:DM applied ? (where are additional l7 filters ?)

    Does this mean I cannot restore an config file save (after nvram clear)??
     
  2. flexy

    flexy Network Guru Member

    dellsweig i never did a restore from a config-file testing with those betas..even withing v23....didnt BS say its not recommended ?
    Too much risk screwing stuff up...besides my settings are really not a big deal :)
     
  3. 4Access

    4Access Network Guru Member

    It's not clear to me if the reset warning is specifically for the Dec 14th build or if BrainSlayer is just trying to get the message across that a hard reset is critical when moving to the DD-WRT v23 beta2 firmware for the first time.

    Frankly though when flashing a new firmware it's always best to wipe nvram either by holding reset button for 30 sec or issuing a command such as 'mtd erase nvram' and then manually reconfigure.

    The fact of the matter is that the config backup/restore feature does not include all nvram variables so restoring configs from different firmware versions has the potential to cause problems due to nvram changes between versions. Sometimes you can get away with it but it's really not wise IMO.

    Being forced to manually reconfigure your router is just the price you should expect to pay when running beta firmware, especially when new features an bug fixes come out almost daily!
     
  4. onesolo

    onesolo Network Guru Member

    Hmm, I never did a reset to my firmware since I upgraded to the dd firmware. Everything works like a charm and I think that it has all the options available. But nevertheless how I'm going to see if I have all the options available??
     

Share This Page