1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Maybe a trivial question, but does it matter that I forgot to...

Discussion in 'Tomato Firmware' started by philtrim, Jul 28, 2009.

  1. philtrim

    philtrim Addicted to LI Member

    NVRAM erase full after installing Tomato 1.25 over the stock firmware?

    The reason I ask is, I installed the official Tomato 1.25 over stock firmware, and
    forgot to immediately do the nvram erase full, I then entered all my config settings for my router. after realizing I forgot to erase, I decided to backup my config, then did a nvram erase full, then restored my backed-up config.

    Would it have been better to erase, then manually install my settings, or is it just the same to erase, then restore my config after a nvram erase?

    I just want to make sure i get the cleanest/smoothest working firmware possible.

    What say ye, the Tomato gurus?
     
  2. fyellin

    fyellin LI Guru Member

    Saving your configuration, erasing the NVRAM, and then restoring the configuration is essentially a no-op. You've put the NVRAM more or less right back to where it was, including all the crud left over from the original firmware.

    The real answer is that you should probably clear the nvram, enter your configuration manually. Then save that new configuration. If you come to this forum in the future with any problem, the first question is always: "Did you erase nvram when you installed the firmware?" It's better to have your router in a known, good configuration that in a configuration that may or may not be good.
     
  3. philtrim

    philtrim Addicted to LI Member

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page