1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need to reset?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AnubisPrime, Mar 13, 2005.

  1. AnubisPrime

    AnubisPrime Network Guru Member

    I've recently purchased a WRT54GX. (Returned my WRT54G and High Gain antenna set--had the drop out with large file transfer issue--which I'm sure none of you have experienced or have read about anywhere. :) )
    Worked great. I upgraded the firmware. Still works great.

    I never resetted the router after upgrading the firmware. I believe though the router has at least been unplugged once to move its location.

    There is a support page for the WRT54GS that states "reset your router" at the end of the instructions for firmware upgrade.

    There is also another linksys support page for upgrading router firmware that makes no mention of resetting your router.

    Online chat: tech said Linksys recommends resetting your router after a firmware upgrade, but since I am having no problems, he said in my case, for now, it may not be necessary.

    I'm writing this because I would like a second (third,fourth, etc) opinion on the matter.

    The router shows the upgraded firmware in the upper right corner...and like I have said; there are no problems presenting to date. Is it worth resetting and setting *sigh* everything back up again?

    Here is the actual page from the wrt54gx manual (text copied):

    __________________
    Appendix C: Upgrading Firmware 54
    Wireless-G Broadband Router with SRX
    Appendix C: Upgrading Firmware
    The Broadband Router's firmware is upgraded through the Web-based Utility's Administration tab. Follow these
    instructions:
    1. Download the firmware from Linksys's website at www.linksys.com.
    2. Click Firmware Upgrade from the Web-Utility's Administration tab, and the Upgrade Firmware screen, will
    appear.
    3. Enter the location of the firmware's file or click the Browse button to find the file.
    4. Then, click the Upgrade button to upgrade the firmware.
    Figure C-1: Upgrade Firmware
    _______

    No mention of "hold reset button for 30 seconds" ????
    Thanks,
    Dom
     
  2. Esquire

    Esquire Mesquire Staff Member Member

    Yes, it is. It clears out any remaining codes of the previous firmware, much like Windows would reboot after an upgrade to flush out the old files.

    But like your online chat said, this action is recommended. I know people who don't.

    And on the issue of a reset, there are some disagreements in the Internet community whether the restore to factory defaults function in the firmware is identical to pressing the reset button. Linksys has not been able to confirm it either way - but the tech guy I was corresponding thought they "should be identical".
     
  3. Disman_ca

    Disman_ca Super Moderator Staff Member Member

    I agree with Equire's comments
    From my own experience the factory reset option and the 30 second are different. The 30 second resets all nvram entries making them return to default values. The factory reset inside the GUI seems to only reset certain nvram settings the default but not all. It will also depends on what firmware code you are using. If you are using linksys with newer linksys firmware you are probably safe with not doing a 30 second reset. If you are going from one firmware distro to another I would recommend doing a reset to defaults (which ever you prefer) to make sure there is no pre-existing entries that may not be expected by the the new firmware distro. Of course this all IMO.
     
  4. AnubisPrime

    AnubisPrime Network Guru Member

    You are much appreciated...thanks!

    I decided to take the plunge and just reset the router. Only took a few minutes to put everything back in.

    Safe than sorry!
     
  5. Esquire

    Esquire Mesquire Staff Member Member

    I agree. I also find the firmware's factory restore function doesn't appear to always clear everything for a fresh start.

    It is also interesting to note that while Linksys does not mention a hard reset when updating via the firmware interface, it does include a step to pressing the reset button for 30 seconds with upgrade instructions using their upgrade utility or TFTP 8)
     
  6. AnubisPrime

    AnubisPrime Network Guru Member

    ...it's also interesting to note, that unlike the WRT54G, the gX Linksys support page only lists a firmware upgrade, and not a firmware upgrade utility.

    This may be because the gx is a new product?

    If you want to laugh... read on.

    I, being the dullard that I am, found that I was unable to log into the router after I reset it.

    Well...after everything was reset, I was able to log in using the standard "admin" password, but after I changed the router name, added MAC filter, etc, I found I wasn't able to get back into the router. When I would type my password in, the web page would just 'sit' at my usual home page? I called linksys tech support; they were very helpful in how to 'properly' reset the router. We weren't able to resolve it, and he suggested changing it out for another. "It's a new product, and we unfortunately don't have any extensive issues noted thus far, but I will make notes regarding this issue".

    What I found a few minutes later both made me laugh and want to punch myself...

    When I was typing in the MAC addresses in the access filter, I had the CAPS LOCK on. I never took it off, so that's why the router wouldn't let me in.

    It actually works fine. I'm gonna call Linksys back with my case number and have them close it. No sense in letting them chase ghosts when there are other real issues to attend to.

    Anyway, thanks again,
    Dom
     

Share This Page