1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems Editing Users Groups and Shares

Discussion in 'Cisco/Linksys Network Storage Devices' started by scene24, Dec 8, 2006.

  1. scene24

    scene24 LI Guru Member

    I had one USB disk on Port1 (Seagate 250GB), with users, groups and shares all working the way I wanted. I had:

    Users:
    >admin
    >guest
    >john brown (for myself)

    Groups:
    >administrators
    >>admin
    >>john brown

    >everyone
    >>guest
    >>admin
    >>john brown

    Shares:
    >ADMIN 1
    >>administrators (RW)

    >DISK 1
    >>administrators (RW)
    >>everyone (R)

    After attempting to add a second disk (Seagate 750GB), I've had flakiness with users, groups and shares. Even after disconnecting the second hard drive, I still get the bad behavior.

    Under Administration/Users, 'john brown' is no longer a member of 'administrators'. When I try to add the 'john brown' back to 'administrators', I get "Error: Fail to add the user to groups." However, if I now go to Administration/Groups, select 'administrators' and click Members,
    it indicates that 'john brown' is a member of 'administrators'.

    Under Administration/Users, 'guest' is a member of 'everyone', and 'admin' is a member of 'everyone' and 'administrators. Back in Administration/Groups, select 'everyone', click Members, there are no members listed. If I try to add 'guest' to the 'everyone' group there appears to be no change.

    Under Administration/Shares, 'DISK 1', click Access used to generate, "Error: Fail to get group information for the share," until I added a share called 'junk'. Now I can see the group info for 'DISK 1', but 'junk' gives me the error when I click the Access button. After I acknowledge the error dialog, the Access Rights window lists no Groups with Access, and no Other Groups either. If I try to delete the 'junk' share, I get, "Error: Fail to delete the share."

    In the Home pages of the admin web utility, "User Log In (Private Data) is hyperlinked, but "USB Port 1(Public Data) is not.

    I thought users groups and shares were kept in the NSLU2 itself, but I bought a new one, and when I hooked it up, I got exactly the same users, groups and shares. Same behavior, but faster since it's not underclocked like my old one.

    Please advise.
     
  2. d__l

    d__l Network Guru Member

    The only things stored on the NSLU2 are the clock times, some LAN info (IP, DNS, etc.) the System settings (ID and configuration settings), the Status settings (reboot and shutdown times), Back up jobs, and Scandisk settings.

    Password, Groups, and Shares info is all saved on the hard drive when the EXT3 format is used.

    The public data is visible to all without a password and there will be a hyperlink there IF there is any public data on the disk.

    I can't say how much Groups and Shares are supposed to be editable once they have been set up. If you upgraded firmware between the time you set up Groups/Shares and when you editted them, there might be problems. You could try running a scandisk on the hard drive to see if that corrects the problem. There isn't a lot of on-line experience and expertise available in fixing these sort of problems.
     
  3. scene24

    scene24 LI Guru Member

    It turns out, most of the problem disappeared when I used a different browser. I had been using Safari (MAC), but when I went to a Windows machine I have in the house, most everything appeared normal. Back on the MAC, I tried Firefox, and again, most everything appeared normal.

    The thing that is still weird (in Firefox on MAC, and in IE on XP) is that when I look in the "shares" subtab at the DISK 1 share, and check the Access rights, the group "everyone" appears in the list twice, like this:

    administrators (RW)
    everyone (R)
    everyone (R)

    I can remove one of them, but not both. When I do that, and then go to the "groups" subtab, select "everyone", and check Access rights, DISK 1 is on the right side (no access rights). If I select DISK 1, and then click " Read Access", when I go back to the "shares" page, "everyone" is listed twice again. Seems to work, but it doesn't give me a lot of confidence.

    (Yes, I'm on V2.3R63)
     

Share This Page