1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"Save" vs "Apply Settings" in firmware.

Discussion in 'DD-WRT Firmware' started by lrtrees, Aug 15, 2008.

  1. lrtrees

    lrtrees Network Guru Member

    I am sure the answer to this question is posted somewhere, but I cannot find it. I have looked both here and on the wiki, but know luck. I am likely just not entering the correct search words.
    Anyway, I just want to know the difference between the ''SAVE'' and ''APPLY SETTINGS'' and which one to use after making a change? Do I need to use both or just one?

  2. LLigetfa

    LLigetfa LI Guru Member

  3. lrtrees

    lrtrees Network Guru Member

    Thanks, your help was over the top. Thank-you

    I followed the link you provided, that I believe you participated in, and found confusion there also.
  4. CaNsA

    CaNsA Network Guru Member

    If u hit apply u will notice that the save button becomes a saved button.

    Save just saves the changes, handy for makin several changes on several pages, for example.
    Change a basic wifi setting (save)
    change a wifi security setting (save)
    change an advanced wifi setting (apply)
    when u hit apply it will activate the changes u have made.

    if you make one changes on one page only then hit apply afterwards as it will save then apply the changes on that page.

    Pretty simple really.
  5. lrtrees

    lrtrees Network Guru Member

    Then I believe I am correct in saying that I can use the "Save" button to save changes to multiple pages, but basically those changes will not work untill I select the "Apply" button? And I only need to use the "Apply" button once as apposed to the "Save" button which I need to select for each change I make?
  6. CaNsA

    CaNsA Network Guru Member

    Not for each change, u can change several things on one page then hit SAVE before changing to a new page.
  7. lrtrees

    lrtrees Network Guru Member

    OK, thanks

Share This Page