1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

settings get wipe when turn off router

Discussion in 'Tomato Firmware' started by abubin, Oct 14, 2009.

  1. abubin

    abubin Addicted to LI Member

    I am using firmware 1.25.8515 from VicTek Mod.

    My router is all setup and running when one day I need to do some relocation. Thus, I switched off the router and then do the shifting. Then turn back on and everything was reset. I am sure I did not accidentally reset the router.

    How come the settings was not saved? Did I missed something?
  2. fyellin

    fyellin LI Guru Member

    Just to ask the obvious questions.

    #1) You remembered to erase the NVRAM after installing the new firmware?

    #2) You changed settings using the GUI, and not by modifying files?

    If you did both of those things, it seems that you just hit random crappage. You ought to be able to pull the plug, reboot the machine elsewhere, and have it come right back up.
  3. mstombs

    mstombs Network Guru Member

  4. abubin

    abubin Addicted to LI Member

    err...yes I remember doing #1 right after installing the new firmware. And ditto to #2 as well.

    And I have checked in the debugging section that "Avoid performing an NVRAM commit" is not enabled.

    There is also a link in debugging section that says "NVRAM commit". Is this that save everything to NVRAM? Do I need to come click this everytime I want the settings to survive a reboot?
  5. ntest7

    ntest7 Network Guru Member

    That link is for use when the "Avoid performing an NVRAM commit" box is checked. Under normal conditions it should not be needed -- I've never ever clicked it. But feel free to try it anyway.

    It's obvious something is messed up with your router. Maybe reflashing the firmware would help. Or maybe a different version of firmware -- dd-wrt, older Tomato, whatever. Or maybe your router is just busted.
  6. TexasFlood

    TexasFlood Network Guru Member

    I've heard of this happening due to power fluctuations or come routers having the power rapidly unplugged & plugged back in. If it keeps happening that would be a major pain and probably not due to the above causes. I periodically back up my settings both through the GUI and somehow captured in an off-line human readable form, I use firefox scrapbook or you could just print the configs, just in case your router dies and takes the config with it.

Share This Page