1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some thoughts on HyperWRT

Discussion in 'HyperWRT Firmware' started by atzplzw, Sep 30, 2004.

  1. atzplzw

    atzplzw Network Guru Member

    Just flashed my WRT54GS with HyperWRT and it's quite nice. Not so blooded like Sveasoft. I think it is good to stay closely to the Linksys Firmware! Good job...

    I need to use PPTP to ISP and its working which is also not the case with Sveasoft! MTU has to be auto, the WRT will set it to 9178 which is also the case in the original firmware. I don't care as long as all pages work...


    So I got a few thoughts:

    I didn't reset to factory default since I'm to lazy to enter all the settings again. Till now it is working and no problems occured.
    Any hint why there should be anything wrong with that?

    The changelog for v1.2 tells there is a Wireless clients table. Where?
    I can't find it. It's not in Wireless or Status->Wireless menu.

    Can I use a ftp server to hold the addons?
    That would be better since I got one in my LAN. Also I don't want to connect to the Net when starting the WRT.


    That's all for now...
    atzplzw
     
  2. dellsweig

    dellsweig Network Guru Member

    Yes you can use your FTP server. wget will try the 'anonymous' login so put your tar file in the default dir. just replace the http:// with ftp://

    I did not reset after I upgraded to 1.4 - no problems here. All my 1.3 settings held.

    I believe that if a flash contains new nvram settings, then a reset is in order. Otherwise, if the same nvram settings are ok - no reset is needed

    [/quote]
     
  3. Toxic

    Toxic Administrator Staff Member

  4. Esquire

    Esquire Mesquire Staff Member Member

    The firmware has a function to save current configuration to a file on the hard drive, so you can restore your settings after a hard reset.

    Note your router will reboot when settings are being restored.
     
  5. atzplzw

    atzplzw Network Guru Member

    Ok! Then plz someone tell me what the difference between reseting and restoring is...

    I mean: If I reset the router the NVRAM is deleted and set to defaults. But if I do a restore after that all the setting in NVRAM will be the same. So I don't see the reason here except there is hidden stuff I don't know... 8O


    atzplzw
     

Share This Page