1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unintentional feature? WRT54GS V4 Linksys firmware 1.06.1

Discussion in 'Cisco/Linksys Wireless Routers' started by Z3ro, Jul 3, 2006.

  1. Z3ro

    Z3ro Guest

    Hi everyone...

    I think I may have found an unintended feature (bug...) in the official Linksys WRT54GS v4 1.06.1 firmware.

    Let me preface this by stating that a few weeks ago, I had set up a Quake 3 server on my PC for a few friends to join. I opened up ports 27950-27960 TCP+UDP, forwarded to my internal IP address, and enabled the port forwarding.

    After a bit, I stopped the server, and unchecked the enable boxes, closing down that port range.

    Just a bit ago, I thought I would play some Enemy Territory, so I loaded the game up, not having played it since I hosted the Quake 3 server a few weeks ago. I was not getting a list of servers, although the ID master server was being resolved OK. I disabled Windows Firewall, no difference. Eventually, I remembered the port forwarding range that I had entered in forwarding 27950-27960 TCP+UDP. This range was not enabled. I zeroed the port range out, and saved the settings.

    After doing so, I got the server list from the master server OK. I guess what this means is that when a port range (or specific ports) are listed, but not enabled, it seems like it's an explicit deny statement. I wouldn't have thought this (obviously) was by design...

    Your thoughts??

    Edit: Some pictures, since that always helps

    If I have no ports open or the port range enabled then I get the server list just fine.

    If I have the port range disabled then I get no server list.
     
  2. Toxic

    Toxic Administrator Staff Member

    I know Thibor explained that if the ports are there but not enabled the ports listed are blocked. this maybe only in his firmware but in your case it sounds like it is in linksys firmware as well.
     
  3. Thibor

    Thibor Super Moderator Staff Member Member

    that is certainly the case in the stock firmware. the checkbox is a "allow/deny" function.
     

Share This Page